Path Created with Sketch.




FREE SHIPPING Every Day With Purchases Of $60 Or More Of Eligible Items. Online Orders Only.

Inferno (the Gothic Chronicles Collection)

Canticle I, the Divine Comedy
  • By Dane Alighieri, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Product Description

"There is no greater sorrow than to be mindful of the happy time in misery." Dante Alighieri's Inferno, the first Canticle in the epic poetic masterpiece The Divine Comedy, is now available in an exquisite hardcover edition featuring a striking cover and distinctive interior design elements, making it ideal for fiction lovers, fans of horror and allegorical literature, and book collectors. Each collectible volume will be the perfect addition to any well-appointed library.

Harper Muse Classics: The Gothic Chronicles Collection presents Dante's Inferno:

  • Presents the fascinating and haunting allegory of a narrator (Dante himself, guided by the ancient Roman poet Virgil) who journeys through the nine concentric circles of Hell, each level increasing in despair and wickedness
  • Explores such universal themes as the necessity for piety, the ramifications of sin, the inherent dangers of fame, the tension between this world and the afterlife, the eternal value of love, and the permanence of storytelling as an art form
  • Is ideal for fans of Dante, lovers of literary allegory and classic literature, and people who love the darker side of fiction and poetry

Whether you're buying this as a gift or as a self-purchase, this remarkable edition features:

  • Beautiful foil-accented hardcover
  • Distinctive decorative interior pages featuring pull quotes distributed throughout
  • Part of a 4-volume horror collection including Bram Stoker's Dracula, Oscar Wilde's The Picture of Dorian Gray, and a volume of Edgar Allan Poe's best-known short stories.

On Good Friday eve in the year 1300, a traveler (the narrator, Dante himself) loses his way and wanders into a dark mysterious wood, where he happens upon the ghost of the ancient Roman poet Virgil. Virgil promises to help Dante find his way back to the top of the mountain (Heaven), but first they must traverse the nine levels of Hell. As each concentric circle increases in horror and wickedness, the traveler encounters monsters (human and otherwise) and other fantastical creatures as he comes to understand the various sins of humanity such as lust, gluttony, heresy, and violence toward others. Transformed by his harrowing experience, Dante reaches his mountain-top destination as the sun rises on Easter morning.

Dante's Inferno is part of a four-volume collection that includes Bram Stoker's Dracula, Oscar Wilde's The Picture of Dorian Gray, and a volume of Edgar Allan Poe's best-known short stories.

free shipping iconEligible For Free Shipping
Pre-Order This Title Order now, item will be available on 9/10/2024. Ships from a Cokesbury Connect Partner.
  • Additional Details
  • Additional Details
    Product Specs
    • SKU: 9781400344109
    • Manufacturer: Thomas Nelson Pub
    • ISBN 13: 9781400344109
    • Publication Date: 09/10/2024
    • Format: Hardcover
    • Author: Dane Alighieri
    • Author: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

    Shipping & Returns
    This item is available for return. Cokesbury uses a variety of methods for ground shipping. At your request, we can also expedite order shipments for an additional charge. Cokesbury partners with UPS for these expedited deliveries.
  • Kit components
    The following items and their quantities are included in the kit product: Inferno (the Gothic Chronicles Collection)

    Quantity Included   Item Format SKU Individual Price